How Permissions Work
At Sitemark we allow you to adjust the permissions that each user can have if you would like to limit some users to certain functions of the platform.
Direct and Inherited Permissions
Permissions can be assigned in two ways:
Directly to a user: assigned specifically to that user
Through a group: Inherited from groups the user belongs to
Permission Delegation
When assigning permissions, you can only grant permissions that you yourself have. This prevents giving someone more access than you have.
When Do Permission Changes Take Effect?
Permission changes only take effect after the user logs out and logs back in again.
Available User Permission
Here is a list of the permissions available and what they do:
Sites
Can view sites and their info
A user with this permission can view the main Sites module of the platform. If a user without this permission still has 'Can view the operations list' permission, they can see individual operations.
Can access all sites in the portfolio
A user with this permission can access all sites in the company. Revoking this permission allows you to grant access on a site-by-site basis.
Can create new sites
A user with this permission will be able to add new sites to the platform. Without this permission, the user will only be able to view existing sites.
Can delete sites
A user with this permission will be able to delete existing sites and all the operations that are subsequently a part of those sites.
⚠️ Please be aware to provide this access only to trusted users, as once a site is deleted, all information related with that site is deleted as well.
Can edit site boundaries
A user with this permission can edit the boundaries of an existing site.
Can manage design files for sites
A user with this permission can manage design files. Meaning that they can add and remove them. This permission allows the user to upload, edit and delete PDF and DXF design files to the sites they have access to. If they do not have this permission, the tab for design files will not appear on site level.
Operations
Can view the operations list
A user with this permission will be able to view the operations tab on the sidebar at the left of the screen. Without this permission, they will not have this tab available, but they can still see individual operations by viewing them at site level.
Can order new operations and view operation details
A user with this permission has the ability to order new operations for the company for the data products that they have permission for. Without this permission, the user will only be able to view the results and status of existing operations. Users also need the relevant data product permissions, otherwise they cannot see or select any data product when ordering an operation.
Can plan operations, mark them as flown, and upload flight data
A user with this permission has the ability to plan and fly missions in the platform, as well as adding equipment to the companies equipment list.
Can view and edit operation results
A user can open operations and see the results and can edit properties of detections of an operations
Can create shareable links to operations
A user with this permission can create shareable links that allow external users to view operation results without logging in.
Data products
Data product permissions determine which categories of data products a user can order. When ordering a new operation, the available data products are organized into sections based on these permissions:
Without these permissions, the user will not be able to order data products for that category.
Components
Components, Component Types & Component Models
Components, as well as their types and models, form the basis of our digital twin. Using those permissions, you can define which users can create, edit or delete any of these topics. Since it's a foundational feature of our platform, everyone has access to the digital twin, so you can't revoke viewing access.
Learn more about components, component types and component models
Tickets
Can view tickets
Controls whether a user can see tickets. This permission has three levels:
View all tickets: Can view all tickets
View tickets assigned to their group: Can only view tickets assigned to a group they are a member of
View tickets assigned to themselves: Can only view tickets assigned to them personally
Can edit tickets
Controls whether a user can update tickets (update progress, add comments, add attachments, etc.). This permission does not allow updating the assignee—that requires the 'Can assign users to tickets' permission. Additionally, users need the 'Can view and edit operation results' permission to add attachments to tickets.
This permission has three levels:
Edit all tickets
Edit tickets assigned to their group
Edit tickets assigned to themselves
Can delete tickets
Controls whether a user can delete tickets. This permission has three levels:
Delete all tickets
Delete tickets assigned to their group
Delete tickets assigned to themselves
Can close tickets
A user with this permission can move tickets to Closed status (Resolved > Closed). Keep in mind that once a ticket is closed, this ticket won't be visible in the map but will only be visible on the main Tickets module on the left bar.
Can assign users to tickets
A user with this permission can assign tickets to users.
Forms
Can create, edit and delete forms
A user with this permission can create new forms, edit existing forms, and delete forms. Without this permission, no forms will be available in the Forms tab.
Form-level access permissions
Unlike other permissions which are managed in User Management, form-level access permissions are configured directly on each form via the Access Management tab. This allows you to grant specific users or groups permission to view, update, or delete tickets from that particular form.
This is especially useful for users who don't have global ticket permissions—they will only be able to access tickets from forms where they've been explicitly granted access.
Dashboards
Can view dashboards
A user with this permission can access portfolio and site-level dashboards. Without this permission, dashboards will not be available to the user at all.
Can create, edit, and delete dashboards
A user with this permission can create new dashboards, modify existing ones, and delete dashboards at site level.
Schedules
Can view schedules at site level
A user with this permission can access site-level schedules. Without this permission, schedules will not be visible to the user at all.
Can create, edit or delete schedules at site level
A user with this permission can create new schedules, or modify or delete existing schedules.
Administration
Can create, edit, and delete users, and grant them any permission they have themselves
A user with this permission has the ability to add and assign permissions to new and existing users of the company. Any user with this permission can only assign the same or fewer permissions to the new users it creates.
Can view and manage billing information
A user with this permission will be able to see billing information such as the invoice lines for quotes and the price of the operation. You can access Billing by clicking on the Manage Company tab.
Can manage which users have access to specific sites
A user with this permission can determine which users have access to the sites he/she has access to. You can only edit this once you have deactivated Portfolio Access under Permissions.
















